Free-Write-How did the three talks influence your ideas of how technology is designed?

I felt all three podcasts are conveying the idea that technology is created specifically to cater to the user rather than creation of something new and innovative.  As David Kelley states, a fairly recent idea has stormed onto the design scene which is “human-centered design,” where personality traits and behaviors of the user are put into technology.  One example was with the use of technology in the spyfish.  People who didn’t want to go into the water to dive and see ocean life can watch from a digital screen on the boat without even getting wet.  In my own studies,  I have tried to think of as many ways as possible to not only appeal to my own tastes but also to cater to personality of people in general.  Relating my own ideas to people who will critique and view my work is essential towards a more meaningful message. 

I also felt that Malcom Gladwell’s points on preference change are very valid as well. People’s preferences can shift dramatically in a very short span of time so what may look hideous at first such as the Ergon chair design, may turn out to be the most popular design ever. Also, sometimes I worry that my own art and designs are too abstractfor an audience to grasp. Luckily, Gladwell states something I hadn’t considered before. This is the idea that people love and are intrigued by what they do not know how to explain. I don’t need assurance of the quality of an ideaverbally, it is enough to receive a response that an audience enjoys what I have created.

  

~ by pchief8675 on 12/18/2007.

Leave a Reply

 
